ISMICS: The International Society for Minimally Invasive Cardiothoracic Surgery
Home | About | Contact
ISMICS Twitter: @ISMICS Find Us on Social Media:
Like ISMICS on Facebook Follow ISMICS on Twitter @ISMICS ISMICS on YouTube

Subscribe Now to the official publication of ISMICS! Subscribe Now
to the official publication of ISMICS!
Please visit to view the current and all future issues of the bi-monthly journal. View articles and subscribe to INNOVATIONS.

ISMICS Journal Affiliates

Important Dates Important Dates
2017 International Coronary Congress
Marriott Marquis
New York, New York
Co-Sponsor Meeting
ISMICS 2018 Annual Meeting
Annual Award Competitions

Young Investigator Award Competition
Open to fellows and young surgeons in clinical practice for less than 5 years, this award is made possible by Medtronic, Inc. Abstracts accepted by the program committee for full-length oral presentation proceed to the final round of consideration. Program Committee members score papers presented during the Annual Scientific Meeting. Presenters are limited to 8 minutes. A total of $5000.00 USD will be awarded.

President's Award
Awarded to the author of the best full-length oral presentation, this award recognizes work that focuses on minimally invasive cardiothoracic surgical treatment. Presenters are limited to 8 minutes. Recipient is awarded $1000.00 USD.

Best Mini Presentation
These shorter oral presentations require concise, focused delivery from the author, and the same rigorous science required of full-length presentations. Presenters are limited to 3 minutes. Recipient is awarded $750.00 USD.

Best Moderated Poster Competition

Round One:
this peer-review session divides posters into topic groups, with several groups presenting concurrently. Presenters are limited to 3 minutes. Participants (authors, attendees, topic group moderator) score each poster presentation. Round One finalists each awarded $500.00 USD and proceed to Round Two.

Round Two:
this session is conducted in the main Scientific Session Hall with authors using powerpoint slides to present their work to the entire audience. Presenters are again limited to 3 minutes. The topic group moderators score presentations from Round One to select the Best Moderated Poster. Recipient is awarded $500.00 USD.

Best Video Presentation
Both full-length and mini oral presentations are considered for this award. Program Committee members score video abstracts presented during the Annual Scientific Meeting. Criteria include: content well-focused on one technique or tip, clearly stated objectives, tight editing and good videography. Recipient is awarded $750.00 USD.

Subramanian Innovation Award
The Subramanian Innovation Award was developed in 2016 through a generous donation to the ISMICS Research and Education Fund made by ISMICS Past President and Founding Member Dr. Valavanur A. Subramanian. The winner of the Subramanian Innovation Award shall receive grant funding to be used toward taking their innovation and bringing it to reality for implementation. Recipient is awarded $5,000 USD. The first annual Subramanian Innovation Award was presented during the 2017 ISMICS Annual Scientific Meeting in Rome to Muralidhar Padala, PhD of Emory University.

Chitwood Educational Travel Awards
These travel awards are granted annually by the ISMICS Research and Education Fund, through a generous contribution by former ISMICS President, Dr. W. Randolph Chitwood, Jr. In order to be eligible, you must be a Resident or Fellow attending the ISMICS Annual Scientific Meeting. The two selected winners will also receive complimentary Annual Meeting registration, and a year’s complimentary Candidate membership in ISMICS, which includes a subscription to ISMICS journal, INNOVATIONS. If registration or candidate membership dues are already paid – the winner will be refunded. Each recipient is awarded $1,000 USD.

ISMICS congratulates the recipients of the Chitwood Educational Travel Award.

If you have any questions or if you would like more information about these awards, please contact the ISMICS administrative office via email at